Blog posts tagged in personal injury claim
Dogs have a reputation for being “man’s best friend,” and for many children, a good family dog can be a source of joy and companionship. However, when dogs feel scared, angry, or threatened, they may become aggressive, and young children are often the ones who suffer the consequences. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), children are not only more likely to be bitten by a dog than adults, but their dog bite injuries also tend to be more serious. As a parent, you can help your children avoid dog bite injuries using a few effective strategies. Regardless, a California pet owner may be held liable for injuries inflicted by his dog depending on the circumstances.
How to Reduce the Risk of a Dog Bite
The key to preventing dog bite injuries is often helping your children understand a dog’s behavior and how they should act around a dog. Here are some suggestions that can keep your children safe:
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) reports that approximately 90 percent of vehicle occupants in recent years use a seat belt and that seat belts save almost 15,000 lives each year. However, failing to wear a seat belt is still a significant factor in many vehicle-related deaths, as 47 percent of people killed in vehicle accidents in 2017 were not wearing a seat belt at the time. Even if you survive a car accident in which you were not wearing a seat belt, you may experience serious injuries resulting in costly medical expenses and a lasting impact on your quality of life. Furthermore, your failure to wear a seat belt may actually result in less compensation in a personal injury case.
How Do California Seat Belt Laws Affect Negligence?
California law requires vehicle occupants to wear a seat belt under most circumstances in recognition that doing so is the most effective way to save lives in the event of an accident. If you are wearing a seat belt and driving responsibly and you are involved in an accident caused by another driver’s negligence, you may be able to reduce or avoid serious injuries entirely. If you are seriously injured under these circumstances, you can make a strong claim that the other driver was completely at fault for the accident and seek full compensation for any damages resulting from your injuries.
When an individual is bitten by a dog, it can be a traumatic experience. Estimates suggest that approximately 4.5 million people in the United States will sustain a dog bite related injury this year. In fact, statistics involving the act by man’s proclaimed best friend account for the following:
- More than one-third of all homeowner liability claims;
- Over 6,500 attacks on U.S. Postal Service carriers;
- Nearly a one-in-five chance of infection; and
- Increased probability of undergoing reconstructive surgery.
Every 75 seconds someone experiences an encounter with an aggressive or protective canine in the United States—an encounter in which the handler or owner may be at fault.
Although dog bite laws vary state by state, California has seen an increase in dangerous dogs, and bites can occur as a result of improper handling or ignorance of dog bite laws.
Society has changed over the last few decades. With the emergence and development of social media accounts, everything from the birth of our children to the funeral arrangements of a family member is on public display for those on our contact lists to see. In daily life, this is fine to do and even has several benefits for many Americans. However, when an individual is involved in a courtroom battle of any kind, including wrongful death or personal injury, it is best to avoid posting anything on social media accounts.
Prove it to Win it
Although a wrongful death claim and a negligence case are different in various ways, the aspects necessary to create a winning case are similar. Insurance companies and other attorneys understand that these types of cases must be treated similarly to a criminal investigation—both sides scour social media posts and all other avenues for evidence on either side.
More accidents occur each year in California than in any other state. However, there are also more people in California than in any other states. Of these car accidents, hit-and-run occurrences happen at an alarming rate—about 20,000 cases each year as reported by the California Highway Patrol. Many victims are left each year with a significant financial burden and no one to pay. Who pays the bill in these cases?
Your Options in The Golden State
During an ordinary traffic accident, the at-fault driver will stop, enabling their negligence to be confronted but preventing further legal difficulties. Strict laws are in place prohibiting leaving the scene of an accident without exchanging pertinent information. Although there are exceptions—leaving your information on a parked vehicle in a parking lot where the driver is unavailable—it is the responsibility of every driver to stop after their involvement in such an accident. However, not all drivers remain at the scene of a hit-and-run accident.